Jacobite Army Completed

IMG_3540

Well, I have finally completed my Jacobite Army, so to celebrate here is another picture of Prince Charles Edward Stuart, accompanied by Colonel O’Sullivan and his standard bearer.  Bonnie Prince Charlie is a Revell Prussian mounted officer with his tricorne welded into a Scots bonnet, Colonel O’Sullivan is a Revell Austrian artillery driver and the standard bearer is a heavily converted Italeri British Napoleonic Hussar.

 

The last Highland unit is the 3rd Battalion of Lovat’s Frasers.  In my last post, I said that I would not bother to model them, but I have changed my mind.  I managed to scrape together enough figures from various sources to make a six figure battalion.

3rd Bn Fraser figures

The figures I used were (from left to right): an Airfix Napoleonic Highlander, a RedBox Militia figure, an Airfix Napoleonic figure which I originally modelled over 45 years ago as a Black Watch Officer (Highlander top half and cowboy lower half), an Airfix Napoleonic drummer, the right hand figure of an Italeri Napoleonic Highlander supporting a wounded colleague and another Airfix Napoleonic Highlander (again painted over 45 years ago).

The reason I had these old painted figures was because in 1971-73 I was a member of the Farnborough (Hampshire) Wargames Club and we used the original WRG 1750-1850 Rules, published in 1971, which used a 1:15 figure ratio.  This meant that my British battalions were 40 figures, which in a single rank at 15mm per figure occupied 600mm or 2 feet in length, when in line.  This was impractical for the wargames which we wanted to play, so several of us in the club changed the figure ratio to 1:30.  The rules worked perfectly well at that ratio, and I have used it ever since.  The effect was that I could halve the size of all of my units.  My spare British line infantry was reused to make more British battalions, but I only needed three battalions of highlanders (42nd, 79th and 92nd) so I had spare figures, which I am only reusing now as 18th Century highlanders.

Here is the completed 3rd Battalion Lovat (Frasers) in the same figure order as above.

IMG_3557

The first figure has been converted to change him from kneeling to crouching, and all of the Napoleonic highlanders have had their feathered bonnets but down and welded into Scots bonnets, plus their backpacks welded into belted plaids.   I decided not to give the officer a flag, as the 3rd Battalion only operated independently in the raid on Duncan Forbes house on the night of 15/16th October 1745, during which they would have been unlikely to have carried a flag, and anyway I think it is probable that only the 1st and 2nd Battalions of the Lovat (Fraser) Regiment had flags.  The piper was converted from a drummer by cutting off his drum (which will be reused later) and using pieces of welded plastic to model his bagpipes.  The position of the musket of the Italeri figure has been changed.

The main reason which led me to decide to model this battalion, is that I read a good account of the raid across Dornoch Firth on 20th February 1746.  This was commanded by the Duke of Perth, with three brigades crossing in waves.  It was a brilliantly conceived and executed operation, which forced the loyalist forces of Lord Loudoun and Duncan Forbes to retreat to Skye.  The first wave comprised a brigade of 500 Lovat (Frasers) and 300 MacGregors.    My 1st Battalion of Lovats was only 10 figures, but by creating this 3rd Battalion, which was absorbed into the 1st Battalion in late 1745, and by modelling them at 6 figures I could raise the strength of the amalgamated battalion to 16 figures.  This first wave of the Dornoch Firth crossing was commanded by Simon Fraser, Master of Lovat (Lord Lovats’ son).

The second wave of the Dornoch crossing was by a brigade comprising the MacDonnell of Glengarry Regiment and the MacDonald of ClanRanald Regiment.

IMG_3547

 

I had previously modelled both of these, but not their Brigade Commander who was Donald MacDonnell of Lochgarry, so I have now modelled him.  The figure is an unconverted Strelets Jacobite.  As with all of my foot commanders he is mounted on a 20mm diameter base, weighted with a 2 euro cent piece.

 

 

 

 

IMG_3551

 

The completed figure is here, wearing various MacDonnell of Glengarry tartans.

 

 

 

 

 

The third wave comprised Cromartie’s Regiment and MacDonnell of Barrisdale’s Regiment, both of which I had previously modelled.  It was commanded by Lord Cromartie, and I described modelling his figure in my previous post.

To portray the Duke of Perth as a Divisional Commander, I needed to give him an ADC.  I had previously modelled Captain Warren (of the Irish Brigade Regiment Clare), who is shown as an ADC to the Duke of Perth in the Jacobite Muster Roll.  However I wanted to used his figure as an ADC to Lord Clare in a “What If” of the complete Irish Brigade being sent to Scotland.

I therefore looked at the list of officers in the Duke of Perth’s Regiment for a suitable candidate as the Duke of Perth’s ADC.  One name jumped out at me, Lieutenant John MacArthur, since that was my father’s name (although he was always known by the Gaelic version of Ian).  I therefore decided to model him as ADC to the Duke of Perth.

IMG_3545

 

The figure I used was an Italeri Napoleonic British Hussar as shown here.

 

 

 

IMG_3546

 

I cut the busby down and welded it into a Scots bonnet.  I also welded his pelisse into a plaid and swapped his pistol for a sword.  I also added tops to his knee high boots.  The figure, before painting, is here.

 

 

 

IMG_3550

 

The completed and painted figure is here, with a MacArthur tartan jacket and a Drummond of Perth plaid.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3558

 

Here he is again, this time accompanying the Duke of Perth (who I had previously modelled) as his ADC, with both figures mounted on a 50mm Divisional command sabot.

 

 

 

Whilst modelling these figures, I realised that I did not really have a suitable commander for the Mixed Clans Brigade.  I decided to make this Colonel Alexander MacGillivray, of the Clan Chattan (MacKintosh) Regiment.

IMG_3548

 

The figure I used was a Strelets Jacobite, but I changed it slightly to replace the axe in his left hand with a pistol (from the ADC to Duke of Perth figure) and welded on a plaid.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3552

 

 

The completed figure is here.  He is wearing a MacGillivray jacket and a MacKintosh belted plaid.

 

 

 

 

My final Jacobite unit was the only English one raised, the Manchester Regiment.  For this I used Strelets Swedish Infantry of Charles XII, as shown below.

IMG_3554

I based them on the illustration in Plate D4 of the Osprey “The Scottish Jacobite Army 1745-46”.  To convert the original figures, I added a welded plaid.  The officer with the flag and drummer are also conversions.    The flag is based on the description of it on page 23 of that same Osprey as having “Liberty” and “Property” on one side and “Church” and “Country” on the other.  That description speculates that it may have been white with a St George cross, so that is how I have shown it.

IMG_3549

 

I decided to make one last commander, that of Captain Hamilton, who was the Jacobite Garrison Commander of Carlisle Castle.  I used an Imex AWI British Officer for his figure, cutting away the flag, shortening his coat, plus welding on a Scots bonnet and a plaid.

 

IMG_3553

 

Here is the completed figure.  He was from the Duke of Perth’s Regiment so I have shown him in civilian clothes plus a Drummond of Perth plaid.

 

 

 

 

Well, that is the Jacobite Army completed.  I just need to finish off the British Army.

4 thoughts on “Jacobite Army Completed

  1. Kozmo November 11, 2017 / 5:27 am

    Admirable! But how came you to decide on the Cameron’s standard as the Prince’s standard? The old painting that shows it at Glenfinnan? (Artist’s confusion of a clan banner with the Royal Standard.)

    Like

    • rodwargaming November 11, 2017 / 8:20 pm

      Hi Kozmo,

      I decided on that pattern for the standard based on the research done by the 1745 Association. Some sources show it with a blue border, and that is discussed in this article:

      http://www.1745association.org.uk/Jacobite%20Banner.htm

      I decided to model it with the blue border and added the motto “Tandem Triumphans”.

      The Cameron flags are different. I only use one per battalion and gave my Camerons the red and yellow striped one (looking a lot like the Catalonian flag). This is illustrated in black and white, with description of the colours, on page 17 of the Osprey “The Scottish Jacobite Army 1745-46”. There is a modern coloured version of this on pages 11-12 of the Osprey “Culloden Moor 1746”.

      The other Cameron flag is depicted in black and white, with description of the colours, on page 18 of the Osprey “The Scottish Jacobite Army 1745-46”. There is also a coloured photo of this actual flag (or possibly a more modern replica of it, but either way given credibility by belonging to Sir Donald Cameron of Locheil) on page 146 of “Bonnie Prince Charlie” by Rosalind K Marshall. It is plain red, with no blue border, has a Cameron Coat of Arms in the White centre, not a motto.

      Rod

      Like

  2. Marvin November 11, 2017 / 5:51 pm

    Excellent! Congratulations – you should be very proud of creating this work.

    Like

  3. 26soldiersoftin November 12, 2017 / 4:33 pm

    Thanks for sharing your conversion tips then and now from such a diverse range of figures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

