28mm Black Watch

 

Amost all of my wargame figures are plastic 1:72, and that includes Zulu War, 100 Years War, Napoleonic, 18th Century and the unpainted plastic mountain of Roman era figures.  The only exception is some home-cast metal Zulus, but they are 1:72 as well.

28mm-black-watch-1

 

I do have half a dozen 28mm metal figures, since these were given away free with various supplements to Black Powder and Hail Caesar, which I purchased from Warlord Games.  

We often give our grandchildren small presents and I was looking for something suitable to give my 8 year old grandson.  He is massively into his collection of monsters, knights, soldiers, spacemen etc, all of which participate in his games regardless of scale or era.

I thought I would paint up the 28mm metal Highlander figure, which came with the Black Powder supplement The Last Argument of Kings, and give my grandson this as a present.

28mm-black-watch-2

 

 

I painted the figure as Black Watch, exactly like the illustration on the front cover of The Last Argument of Kings supplement.

 

 

28mm-black-watch-3

 

Here is the rear view of the same figure.  I used the same techniques for painting as I would for my 1:72 figures.  The tartan was a dark blue base, dark green overstripe and thin black top stripe.  The light made a bit of a shine on the jacket but it is actually matt.

 

 

The base is card with melted plastic built up on top, exactly as I do with my 1:72 figures.

I am quite pleased with the result, but will stick with my 1:72 plastic figures, since they are a fraction of the cost, and take up less space than 28mm ones.  I have also built up such a large collection of 1:72 figures that I have no thought of changing scale now.

Needless to say, my grandson was delighted with his present, and has promised not to play too roughly with the figure.

Leave a Reply

